Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

God's work. Our hands.

Bookmark and Share

Synod Council

Between meetings of the Synod Assembly (the highest legislative body of the synod), the Synod Council serves as the board of directors. The Synod Council is made up of voting members from different conferences, as well as four officers: president (the bishop), vice president, secretary and treasurer.

Read the latest approved minutes (April 2015)

Synod Council Minutes Archive

Download the Manual for Synod Council Training and Formation (2012)


Bishop Robert A. Rimbo
Ms. Maria Del Toro, Vice President
The Rev. Robert Schoepflin, Secretary
Mr. Frank Suttell, Treasurer
The Rev. William Baum
The Rev. Khader El-Yateem
Ms. Hazel Goldstein
Mr. Christopher Vergara


Mr. Daquan Baker (2014-2016, youth) (1st)

The Rev. William Baum (2012-2016) (2nd)
St. Barnabas Lutheran Church, Howard Beach

The Rev. Dr. Rosalind Brathwaite (2012-2016) (2nd)
Grace Lutheran Church, Astoria

Ms. Maria Del Toro, Vice President (2014-2018) (2nd)

The Rev. Khader El-Yateem (2012-2016) (1st)
Salam Arabic Lutheran Church, Brooklyn

Ms. Hazel Goldstein (2012-2016) (1st)

The Rev. Brenda Irving (2012-2016) (2nd)
Prince of Peace Lutheran Church, Cambria Heights

Ms. Barbara Johnson (2012-2016) (2nd)

The Rev. Amy Kienzle (2014-2018) (1st)
Messiah Lutheran Church and St. John's Lutheran Church, Greenpoint

Mr. John Litke (2014-2018) (1st)

Dcn. Dr. Carlos Lopez (2014-2018) (2nd)

Dcn. John Malone (2014-2018) (2nd)

Ms. Karen Maulen (2014-2015)

The Rev. Craig Miller (2014-2018) (2nd)
Our Saviour’s Lutheran Church, Brooklyn

Mr. Walter Nash (2014-2018) (1st)

Dcn. Lulu Paolini (2014-2018) (1st)

The Rev. Daniel Peter (2014-2018) (1st)
St. Paul's International Lutheran Church, Floral Park

Dcn. John Prosen (2012-2016) (1st)

Mr. Brian Reardon (2012-2016) (2nd)

The Rev. Dr. Robert A. Rimbo (2014-2020) (2nd)
Bishop, Metropolitan New York Synod

Ms. Terra Rowe (2012-2016) (1st)

The Rev. Harry Schenkel (2014-2018) (1st)
St. Paul's Lutheran Church, East Northport

The Rev. Robert Schoepflin, Secretary (2014-2018) (2nd)
Abiding Presence Lutheran Church, Fort Salonga

Mr. Frank Suttell, Treasurer (2012-2016) (1st)

Ms. Wendy Bean Tannenbaum (2014-2018) (1st)

Ms. Abby Triebel (2012-2016) (1st)

Mr. Christopher Vergara (2012-2016) (1st)

Ms. Karen Woolley (2012-2016) (1st)


(voice, no vote)

Women of the ELCA
Barbara Tormondsen

Lutheran Men in Mission
Judge Daniel Joy

In rotation


mnys is part of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

© 2011 MNYS. All Rights Reserved.

Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com