# MINUTES OF A SPECIAL SYNOD ASSEMBLY OF THE METROPOLITAN NEW YORK SYNOD OF THE EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA

+

May 6, 2022

A special assembly of the Synod was called by the Synod Council for the purpose of electing officers, synod council members, consultation committee members, and discipline committee members. Voting members of the 2021 Regular Assembly were the voting members for this Special Assembly. The plenary session of the assembly was held via Zoom, and the opening and closing worship via Facebook and YouTube.

Service of the Word and Opening of the Assembly was held at 9:45am.

# FRIDAY, MAY 6, 2022

**PLENARY SESSION** 

At 10:02 am Bishop Egensteiner called the plenary session to order.

Bishop Egensteiner welcomed the voting members and set forth the procedures for this digital assembly.

Bishop Egensteiner then introduced the Synod Assembly Coordinator, Pastor Paul Johnsen, the Assembly Parliamentarian, The Rev. C. Anderson James, the chair of the Woship Committee, The Rev. William Kroeze, and the chair of the Nominations and Election Committee, The Rev. Kevin O'Hara, and thanked them for their work.

Bishop Egensteiner then introduced the Synod staff:

Ms. Karen Falco, Chief Operating Officer;

S.Dcn. Gayle Ruege, Executive Assistant to the Bishop;

Mr. Branden Dupree, Director for Evangelical Mission;

Mr. Roberto Lara, Assistant for Communications and Development;

The Rev. Gladys Diaz, The Rev. Christopher Mietlowski and The Rev. Kevin Vandiver,

Assistants to the Bishop who serve as his deployed staff;

S.Scn. Donna-Mari Fieldsa, Director for Finance, Administration and Grant Management;

Mr. Mark Goodwin, Manager for Synod-owned properties;

Ms. Regina Daniels, Ms. Kaitlin Kowalec, Ms. Claire Mazza, Ms. Maria Rodes, Ms. Nancy Lindeburg, Administrative Support Staff; and

Ms. Ardath Heard, Ms. Dee Scholz-Beyer, and Ms. Joan Swartz, office volunteers.

Bishop Egensteiner introduced the Conference of Deans.

The Rev. Jeffrey Koenig: Hudson

The Rev. Mary Lou Baumgartner: Delaware Hudson

The Rev. Jennifer Boyd and The Rev. James O'Hanlon: Tappan Zee

The Rev. Micah Stumme: Eastern Nassau The Rev. Robert Cederstrom: Western Nassau The Rev. Martin Nale: Southwest Nassau

The Rev. Paul Downing: Peconic

The Rev. Joanne Bond: Western Suffolk

The Rev. Marcia Parkinson-Harrison: Southeast Queens

The Rev. Analyse Triolo: Northeast Queens The Rev. Paul Milholland: Western Queens The Rev. David Parsons: Brooklyn Bridges The Rev. Kelsy Brown: South Shore Brooklyn The Rev. Khader Khalilia: Southwest Brooklyn

The Rev. Denielle Miller and The Rev. William Kroeze: Manhattan

The Rev. Wolfgang Laudert: Staten Island

The Rev. Jeanine Owens: Bronx

Bishop Egensteiner noted that the rules of procedure adopted at the 2021 Regular Synod Assembly would be followed at this Special Assembly.

Robert Lara then explained the digital voting procedure.

The Rev. Kevin O'Hara, Chair of Nominations and Elections, gave a report on the election process and noted that the report of the committee is published on the 2021 Assembly Platform.

## First Report on Registration and Attendance

| Lay Voting Members      | 83  |
|-------------------------|-----|
| Rostered Leaders        | 88  |
| Total Voting Members    | 171 |
| Visitors                | 9   |
| <b>Total Attendance</b> | 179 |

## **Adoption of Agenda**

The agenda for the assembly was adopted as presented.

2022 DIGITAL SPECIAL MEETING OF THE SYNOD ASSEMBLY AGENDA

FRIDAY, MAY 6, 2022

9:45 am

Service of the Word + Opening of the Assembly Facebook & YouTube

10:00 am - 1:00 pm | Plenary Session Welcome

Synod Assembly Resources + Digital Voting Process

Introduction of 2022 Nominations and Elections

Registration and Attendance

Adoption of the Agenda

Introduction of Synod Officers and Synod Council

Report of the Vice-President

Moment of Thanksgiving

Prayer for Officers' Election

Common Ballot I

**ELCA Churchwide Report** 

Common Ballot II

Bishop's Report

Common Ballot III OR End of Plenary Session

End of Plenary Session

1:00 pm

Service of the Word for the Closing of the Assembly with the Rite of Installation of Our New Synod Council

# **Adoption of Rules of the Assembly**

The Rules were adopted as presented.

# **Introduction of Synod Officers and Synod Council**

Bishop Egensteiner introduced the officers and council to the Assembly.

Ms. Renee Wicklund, Vice President

The Rev. Robert Schoepflin, Secretary

Mr. John Litke, Treasurer

Ms. Cynthia Corley (Executive Committee)

S.Dcn. Steven Daniels

The Rev. George Dietrich

Mr. David Ehlers (Executive Committee)

Ms. Hazel Goldstein.

The Rev. Marva Jenkins

Mr. Erich Markert

Ms. Lily Sage Mathias

Mx. Anna Moritz (young adult)

The Rev. Jeanine Owens (Executive Committee)

The Rev. David Parsons

The Rev. Daniel Peter Penumaka

Mr. Aiden Sargent (youth)

Mr. Thomas Sargent

Cecil "Chip" Spurlock-Shackelton

The Rev. Gary Squire (Executive Committee)

The Rev. Brooke Swertfager

Ms. Wendy Bean Tannenbaum S. Dcn. Anita Martin-Williams The Rev. Dr. Kimberly Wilson

## **Report of the Vice President**

VP Renee Wicklund gave her report to the Assembly, after which Bishop Egensteiner spoke warm words of thanks for her leadership.

VP candidate Christopher Vergara addressed the Assembly.

# **Second Report on Registration and Attendance**

| Lay Voting Members      | 94        |
|-------------------------|-----------|
| Rostered Leaders        | 96        |
| Total Voting Members    | 190       |
| Visitors                | <u>10</u> |
| <b>Total Attendance</b> | 200       |

#### **First Common Ballot**

Bishop Egensteiner invited Pr. Kevin O'Hara to conduct voting on the first common ballot.

## **ACTION SA2022:05.01**

Elected as Vice President: Mr. Christopher Vergara

Elected as Secretary: The Rev. Robert Schoepflin

Elected to Synod Council:

The Rev. Linda Manson

The Rev. Patty Avila

The Rev. Ernst Mossl

The Rev. David Parsons

Ms. Monique Davis

S.Dcn. Dave Ehlers

Mr. Tom Sargent

S.Dcn. Philip Jenks

Mr. Cecil Spurlock-Shackleton

Mr. Aiden Sargent

# **ELCA Churchwide Report**

The Rev. Dr. Ruben Duran, ELCA Senior Advisor for New Ministry Development addressed the Assembly and presented a video address of Presiding Bishop Elizabeth Eaton.

## **Second Common Ballot**

Bishop Egensteiner invited Pr. Kevin O'Hara to conduct voting on the first common ballot.

## **ACTION SA2022:05.02**

Elected to Consultation Committee: The Rev. Marcia Parkinson-Harrison The Rev. John Saraka Ms. Elaine Peters-Guthrie Mr. Peter Tomasai

Elected to Discipline Committee: The Rev. Dr. Joann Heaney-Hunter The Rev. Alex Raabe Ms. Jeanne Matson

# Bishop's Report

## **Final Thoughts from our Bishop**

Bishop Egensteiner extended thanks to his staff, Synod Council officers and members, the churchwide representative, the Assembly planning committee, the Assembly chaplain, the Nominations and Elections committee, the Worship Committee, the Assembly Parliamentarian, and all the individuals who managed the technology to make the digital assembly possible.

He then closed the session and invited voting members and guests to attend the Service of the Word for the Closing of the Assembly with the Rite of Installation of new Synod Council at 1:00 pm, via Facebook or YouTube.

The Service of the Word for the Closing or the Assembly with the Rite of Installation of Synod Council members was held at 1:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Rev. Robert Schoepflin Secretary, MNYS