Synod Council

Synod Council

Between meetings of the Synod Assembly (the highest legislative body of the synod), the Synod Council serves as the board of directors. The Synod Council is made up of voting members from different conferences, as well as four officers: president (the bishop), vice president, secretary and treasurer.

Read the latest approved minutes

Download the Manual for Synod Council Training and Formation


Interim Bishop Donald J. McCoid
Renee Wicklund, Vice President (2018-2022, 1st)
The Rev. Robert Schoepflin, Secretary (2018-2022, 3rd)
Dr. John Litke, Treasurer (2018-2022, 1st)
Cynthia Corley (2016-2020, 2nd)
The Rev. Jeanine Owens (2016-2020, 2nd)
The Rev. Daniel Peter Penumaka (2018-2022, 2nd)
Christopher Vergara (2016-2020, 2nd)


Leonel Avila (2016-2020, 1st)

Wendy Bean Tannenbaum (2018-2022, 2nd)

Adam Campbell (Youth) (2018-2020, 1st)

​The Rev. Chryll Crews (2018-2022, 1st)

S. Dcn. Steven Daniels (2018-2022, 1st)

Dave Ehlers (2018-2022, 1st)

Monica Gabryszewski (2018-2020, 1st)

Hazel R. Goldstein (2018-2020, 1st)

The Rev. Marva Jenkins (2018-2022, 1st)

S. Dcn. Anita Martin Williams (2018-2022, 1st)

The Rev. Christopher Mietlowski (2016-2020, 1st)
Gustavus Adolphus Lutheran Church, Manhattan

S. Dcn. John Ogren (2018-2022, 1st)

The Rev. David Parsons (2018-2022, 1st)

S. Dcn. Denise Rutherford-Gill (2016-2020, 1st)

Thomas Sarget (2018-2019, 1st)

The Rev. Nicole Schwalbe (2016-2020, 1st)
Resurrection Lutheran Church, Mt. Kisco

Cecil Spurlock-Shackelton (2018-2022, 1st)

The Rev. Garry Squire (2016-2020, 2nd)
Messiah Lutheran Church, Staten Island

Emma Turner (2016-2020, 1st)

Karen Woolley (2016-2020, 2nd)